Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 159 Posts

· Premium Member
24,951 Posts
you do realize that higher octane actually hurts performance right?

You want to run the lowest possible octane an engine can run on without knocking.

The higher the octane, the slower the burn, and cooler the flame.

· GvillefloridaR1
671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ahhh your the machinst in ocala right? I called your shop looking for a custom NOS bracket....I scratched that idea and just spent the extra money on exhaust and pc3usb... thanks for the advice

· Premium Member
24,951 Posts
Huh..where did you get this info from.. first I have ever heard of that... Its says on the tank NO LOWER than 93 octane gas...

There are several threads about this on here...then again, I build engines for a living. They put 93 for being safe, but I always run that, what Im saying is higher octane will actually lower performance.

Ill explain......

OK, you piston comes down, sucks air/fuel in while the intake valve is open, now the piston heads back up, at a certain point before TDC, the plug ignites the compressed air/fuel..this is where the octane comes in, gasoline when compressed can ignite on its own, so the lower the octane rating the easier it ignites, so if the fuel ignites before the piston is close to TDC the explosion tries to push the piston down, while the crank pushes up(this is bad)

Now if you have to too high octane, the piston comes up, the spark ignites, but the flame is actually slower and does not burn as fast which is not creating the biggest bang to slam the piston back down.

· NESBA Mid Central
81 Posts
High Octane Not Slower