Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Nice Rear... Set.
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have an '02 R1 Yam and Track Day in Phoenix is a bit rough on the tires, SO... Even though I've been running Dunlops for the last four five years as they seem to be standard Yam equipment, does anyone have an experience where they tried a different brand and were blown away at the grip and wear combination? Right now I have the 208's that are standard issue with the bike. I've run GP's but they don't last long enough and now that I'm in Phoenix instead of Northern California :cryin , I'm there just aren't that many curves! I haven't developed any "riding habits" here yet but I suspect a long road trip or two isn't out of the question. Thanks for the input.

·
GO CHIEFS!!!
6,870 Posts
I like the Diablo Coras as a great street/track tire. Definitely feel better than the Dunlop 208. I was blown away by their performance, but I doubt they wear all that great for normal use...

- BA

·
My R1 is really an FZR
101 Posts
what about a good street tire? i havn't been dragging my knee or anything (yet) and my rear tire is starting to act a little squirly from al the miles i put on it. looking for a reasonably sticky tire that'll last a while.

thinkin of tryin the metzlers

·
GO CHIEFS!!!
6,870 Posts
M1s are also great tires... They have plenty of grip to drag knees to your hearts content. I find the corsas a much better track tire (ran m1s on the track once and they started getting really squirmy after a few hot laps on a 100 deg day), but the M1s are cheaper and offer more than enough grip for the street.

- BA

·
WTF!
510 Posts