Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hitting the track really hard this year and can notice a good deal of improvement in my street riding, my favorites roads I've noticed about 10-20mph increase and still feel comfortable and relaxed. I am not as good as I would like to be, but I am learning. Anyway, I have started to get fairly comfortable hanging off the bike at the track, now when I ride on the street even below the speed limit I don't feel I am riding correctly unless I can hang off and feel my weight on the pegs. I am not a fan of dragging knee on the street, and have tried to adjust my riding accordingly to not bring attention to myself and not ride aggressively. I just feel dumb and less smooth unless I am hanging off the bike. Does anyone else have this happen to them? This is my first year doing trackdays and I have done 7...I also ride everyda, year round, rain or shine to work and for play about.....60k on my current R1.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mostly I just don't feel as smooth... I guess I tend to get lazy and start using my arms to turn the bike which makes me feel like my lines are crap. Every time I ride I am constantly evaluating the things I'm doing right and wrong. Seems I do more things right but only when I am at the track where the speed increases and the hanging off puts me in better control

·
Turn #8 Got Me
1,034 Posts