Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Track Day Checkers!
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
I've been doing track days for 6 years now, and am finally moving to racing in my local club! (desertroadracing.org)

I'm a fast B group/slow A group rider and have been on Q3's up to this point on my 2000 R1 (yes, a 2000..) They're great tires but after 4 or 5 hard laps I'll have to back down and let them cool a bit. I've decided to put on my big boy pants and step up...

I've found some used Woodcraft Gen 3 warmers and got a black friday deal on a generator. And now the big question - WHAT TIRES TO GET?!?

Here's what I have done to the bike over the years beyond normal maintenence:
1. Hot Bodies kit (ebay clearance)
2. Scotts Damper (used, ebay, sent to Scotts for rebuild)
3. Re-sprung front with heavier springs
4. Fox shock (ebay - used)
5. K&N filter, 2 Bros pipe (both on sale, naturally)
6. Ivans Jet Kit (He didn't budge on the price, but was very generous with his time on the phone)
7. Vesrah pads (paid full price)

That's it kiddies. Wish me luck and if there's interest I'll update this with my progress. Race #1 is January 17

2 cents on tire recomendations are appreciated...

·
Registered
3,010 Posts
We would suggest running Pirelli SC1/SC2 slicks or Dunlop slicks in 7455 as a good starting point, these tires work great with liter bikes. They each have distinctly different feel, so it's best to try each and pick the one you feel better on.

Congrats on the jump and best of luck in 2015. Feel free to get in touch if we can help.

·
Klaus Von Slowpoke
5,853 Posts
^ that covers it. :)
I've run the Dunlops, lots of guys run the Pirellis. Dunlops have the stiffer carcase for more predictability, Pirellis are more flexible to allow for more feel. Choose your weapon. GL.

And please do update with progress!

·
R1 Forum Star
16,200 Posts