Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
I NEED MY RAY-BANS
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
anyone using wd40 on chain? is it good for the chain or is it no good? ive heard too much shit from the dealers..maybe they just wanna sell me there oil cans at $12 a shot.

·
aka `GoBabyGo`
1,139 Posts
I am no expert but the reason for chain lube is the fact that it is designed to stick to the chain.
If you have a Scott oiler it's deferent because it drops a little oil on the chain ever 30 seconds or so.
WD-40 would not stay on the chain long enough to provide sufficient lubrication.

·
L8R2U
21,459 Posts
I would use it to clean a chain and then wax it not by itself :thumbup

·
THEY CALLED ME SWEETNESS!!!!!!
6,538 Posts
I use WD-40 to clean the chain. After I clean it, I take the bike for a ten minute ride to get the chain nice and hot. After that, I spray the chain lightly with chain wax (Bel Ray) and let it sit for about an hour. Works like a charm.

If you don't want to spend the extra few bucks on chain specific oil or wax, you can always wipe the chain down with Yamalube motor oil..:fact

·
Stiffler Time Baby!
139 Posts
I also use it to clean my rims but not to lube the chain. You can dampen a rag with WD and wipe excessive lube off your chain.

I prefer to lube the chain after riding too, the lube seems to get down into the links better. I will wipe off the excess immediately though before it coagulates. Wiping off the chain will not wipe the lube out of the links which is where you want it to be anyway.

By wiping off the excess I find that less flys off onto my rim.

·
190 rear section heaven !
1,997 Posts
WD-40 stands for "water Dispersent 40th attempt"

(It took them 40 mixtures to get it right, Don't ask me how I know this)

Basically it expels water and then it itself evaporates and leaves a thin coating of oil....

Not good enough for Chain lubrication, only really good enough to degrease a chain as mentioned above...