Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade the tires on my standard 2016 R1 to a slightly bigger size from the standard 190/55. I'm looking at the Pirelli Diablo Supercorsa SP V3's in either a 200/55 or 200/60, however I might just end up going with the new taller 200/60 size which comes standard on the panigale v4, so I'm just wondering if these sizes will definitely fit?
I understand the R1M comes with a 200 rear, but I was just wanting to double check it will fit on the standard R1 since it comes with a 190 from factory. (Sorry for sounding like a complete noob here)

Thanks!! :)

·
Registered
427 Posts
Yes they will, I have 200 on mine. Expect it it to be slightly taller, also your speedo may be out. But you can use a speedo healer by Healtech. I don't bother as mine is a track bike ?

·
kickin' at the darkness
10,312 Posts
same wheel, sub-frame, swinger, tail, etc.. wheres the issue? :D

chances are the speedo isnt 100% accurate from the factory anyway
so a speedo healer is something to consider.

·
Registered
427 Posts
My bike handles totally different with a 190 to 200. When the suspension was changed and set up it was set up 200 tyre although it had 190 in it at the time. I rode it once with 190 before putting the 200 on and it was slow to tip in. It was a totally different bike when I put the 200 tyre in. The Aprilia was the same, I was told it would not handle or tip slow with a 200 tyre, but I changed the suspension setup on that myself but it took a while but I got rough idea of some who was running the same bike and tyre, but our weights were different . My advice is to get a suspension setup when putting on bigger tyres. The the R1 has FGRT forks with fork extenders with Ohlins shock on the rear.